I, the “Misha” of mishamau5.wordpress.com, am a mid-twenty-something hipster millennial living in rural North Carolina instead of his native Central Florida. I was born and raised well within Walt Disney World’s circle of influence; my dad worked for their emergency services department until I was about 15 or so. We lived far enough away to not technically be living in Orlando, but it’s my go-to answer for the inevitable “Where are you from?” that my out-of-place persona invokes. Now, my wife Madison and I live in her native Rocky Mount, NC, and people instantly pick out our neutral American accents as strangely foreign. It doesn’t help either that we are one of only a handful of interracial couples in this backwater town. Our new Rocky Mount neighbors also tend to pick up on our relatively impressive cultural knowledge and experience; Madi and I eat sushi (with chopsticks!), are bilingual (I learned a good bit of Russian in college, and she and I both have at least a basic knowledge of Spanish), and can hold our own in socio-political conversation beyond simply sharing Facebook articles. In short, she and I tend to stick out.

I attended a private elementary school (complete with an oppressively fundamentalist belief system), home-school for middle school, a public high school, two years of private university, and two years of public university. Over the course of my life so far, I’ve transitioned from being raised in a strictly right-learning, conservative, “traditional values” family to becoming a largely agnostic bleeding-heart liberal. I’ve been on both sides of the equation, and at the risk of sounding presumptuous or overconfident, I feel like I can relate to a variety of mindsets along the political spectrum, at least in terms of why people think the way they do. At the end of the day, I think my experiences have made me a very empathetic person. I like the person I’ve become, but sometimes it blows my mind how far I’ve come from where I began.

I won’t tell you exactly where I work, since this is, you know, the Internet. In general terms, I work for a financial institution. I work as a teller and as a customer service agent, and if things continue to go well, I may go on to be a loan officer in the future. It’s the first time in a while that I’ve gotten the chance to work a weekday nine-to-five. Previously, I drove forklifts and stacked boxes as a temp working in a pharmaceuticals plant, and before that, I operated cranes and drove trucks at a railroad shipping terminal.  So to sit in an office chair and do work on a computer is quite refreshing, though just a little less exciting than what I’ve been used to.

Forgive me if this post seems a little choppy or distracted. These aspects of my life might be fleshed out in more depth in future posts, but as an introduction post, I don’t want to bore anyone. I’m trying to remind myself that this is my “About Me” post and not my memoirs. That being said, if there’s anything you’d like to know more about, let me know! Leave a comment or reach out to me at one of my social media sites. I’d love to get to know you too, and if you feel like we’d get along, feel free to introduce yourself. My wife has her own blog too; check out C’est la Moot for her lifestyle and beauty-blog content.

Check back for more posts! No set schedule yet, but look for at least a post or two every week.

Until next time,

-Misha Mouse

Leave a Reply

